Holland Bedankt! Tot ziens!!

World Cup 2014 has come to an end! It was a great one for my team, The Dutchmen, even tho we only finished in 3rd. Yet, they played like a champion. πŸ™‚

I was always on the side of three teams. They were Netherlands, Italy, and England. I rooted for Italy because of Totti, until he retired from the national team. I was lucky enough to see him lifting the World Cup trophy in 2006. England, well, I like Gerrard. The ideal leader, but sadly they couldn’t say much in every occasion. And then Netherlands.. there is just something about this team that hooked me since long time ago. I remember the first time I watched soccer game, it was Netherlands in World Cup (I’m still in junior high at that time), and there was Patrick Kluivert playing. I was mesmerized by him and the whole team! Since then, I was always with The Dutchmen. And maybe also because I have families who live there? Hehe..

I was always rooting Netherlands in secret. I don’t think anyone knew that I like this team, until the last Euro Cup, which didn’t end well for Netherlands. But, this time, with a more mature players and the return of the prodigal manager, I feel like we can say so much in World Cup 2014! Tho, I did have doubts about the player selections by Van Gaal before the first match against Spain. Honestly, I didn’t know half of the team he picked. And God.. Have I never been so wrong! The team played really well! Especially against Spain, which they crushed 5 to 1!! Seriously, that was one of the best night of my whole life! That night, The Legend of The Flying Dutchmen was born. XD

taken from here
I mean.. who knew Van Persie can fly? … WE KNOW NOW!! πŸ˜€ *taken from here
taken from here
taken from here
taken from here
taken from here
taken from here
taken from here

Yet, after those glorious winning streak, as I said before, we only finished as the 3rd winner with the bronze medal. It’s sad. I even cried a bit when we lost in the semi-final against Argentina. Hehe..

But that’s because I love my team! I watched every matches that we played in this World Cup, and in every single one of them, I screamed, I cursed, I cheered, I jumped, I smiled.. The excitement was superb because we played good. Really good. The players didn’t fail us at all. They gave their best performance in every match, especially the last game in the “consolidation” match for the 3rd winner against Brazil.

You guys did your best and made us proud. Yes, I am so proud of this team no matter what. Especially for those players who were under-rated by a lot of people at first, such as Ron Vlaar, Daley Blind, Janmaat, Dempsey, and Cillessen. You guys rose up to the challenge for sure! – And of course a big standing applause for Robben who carried the team through out the whole event, Sneijder who never gave up and with that outstanding thunder strike to Mexico’s net, and Persie who, as a captain, always did his best no matter what. Awesome!

The team went home with their heads held high. Time to prepare for Euro 2016 in France with Guus Hiddink!! See you in Netherlands and France, maybe. πŸ˜‰

Holland Bedankt!! Hup Holland Hup!!

Ron Vlaar, best defender of our team!  *pic taken from FIFA
Ron Vlaar, best defender of our team! *pic taken from FIFA
Daley Blind celebrating his first ever national goal! *pic taken from FIFA
Daley Blind celebrating his first ever national goal! *pic taken from FIFA
Tim Krul, God of Penalty Shoot-out. *pic taken from FIFA
Tim Krul, God of Penalty Shoot-out. *pic taken from FIFA
My heart stopped at this moment. Too happy. *pic taken from FIFA
My heart stopped at this moment. Too happy. *pic taken from FIFA
Man of The Match! *pic taken from FIFA
Man of The Match! *pic taken from FIFA
Always.
Always.
Bedankt! *pic taken from FIFA
Bedankt! *pic taken from FIFA
Great World Cup, guys. See you in Euro 2016!
Great World Cup, guys. See you in Euro 2016!

 

Oh, please do tell me how can I change back my sleeping hours from 06:00 – 12:00 to normal? o_O *damn time difference

Erwin.

Leave a Reply

