Shall we be kind to one another?

Do you know that a small gesture of kindness can help us getting through a rough day?

I do feel that being kind is a natural reaction. We don’t need to be like “Oh, I have to be kind to this guy” or “Damn, there’s people around, I need to be kind to others.”, but instead it should happen because we know it’s the right thing to do, because you know that it might lighten up someone’s day, or just because we feel like it.

My friend told me this story about her recent business trip in an island. She has to rent a bicycle to get around the place, so she got one from this particular man. Long story short, she lost the bike. Apparently someone took it because she forgot to lock the bike chain. And as she went back to the rental station, she was worried that the man would be angry or made a really big deal out of it. It was such a bad day for her, with most of her plans were ruined that day–a lost bike was just the perfect cherry on top. Eventually she made it to the rental station by foot and found the man. She told him about the bike and apologized telling that it was her fault and she will pay him as the compensation.

But you know what? He said it was okay. I kinda forgot on what exactly that he said to her, but it was something like this.. “It’s okay miss. It’s not like you lose it on purpose and you already admitted that it’s your fault. I appreciate that. And you don’t have to pay me anything, I will find the bike. God will help too. And I know you’ve learned your lesson through this,” he said it with a smile in his face rather than a grouchy tone or angry attitude. “Don’t blame yourself. Focus on your work.” In the end, he even gave my friend another bike for her to use, so she didn’t need to go back to the hotel by foot. When my friend refused the offer because she felt really bad already, he said this, “No. It’s not right if I let you walk back by foot. You’re my client, so you can use my other bike. I want you to use it.” again with a pure sincere voice.

I mean, let’s face it. The world that we live in is quite messed up with all the dramas, politics, crimes, racism, and many other bad things. Eventually you will expect that most of the people who live within will portray that bad attitudes.

But hey.. I guess we are not that messed up. There are still kind people around us that we might find in the most unexpected places and moments. Just as the bike rental guy who I found out later on as Pak Mamik. ‘Cause what he did to my friend that day put a smile to her. After a rough day, and you found out that these people do exist, you can’t help but smile.

And I guess we can start with little things. As little as saying thank you–a sincere one–to those people who help us, to those waiters that serves us in a restaurant, to those garbage men who pick up our garbage every morning. Sometimes a simple thank you can lift up their world. Or as simple as holding the elevator doors open for someone who wants to get in or out. Anything.

‘Cause I believe that this kindness thing is a ripple effect. When you do kind stuff to other people, they eventually will do the same thing to others, and so on. Why? I think because they realize that what we did for them earlier actually made their day a lil bit better and they just want to pay the kindness back. Well I don’t know if it’s actually true or not, but I rather take my chances to believe in it.

Yet, it made my day too when I do kind stuff to others. I guess the ripple effect comes back to me? πŸ˜€

So, shall we try to be kind to one another? πŸ™‚

 

Erwin.

 

*Pak Mamik is a bike rental guy in Gili Trawangan Island, Lombok. Pay him a visit if you need a bike. He’s stationed near the pier (go to the left from the pier), in front of Trawangan Cottages. Ask for him. πŸ™‚Β 

One thought on “Shall we be kind to one another?”

Leave a Reply

