Destination Chocolate with Sababay Winery & Pipiltin Cocoa

Few weeks ago, I happened to be lucky enough to join the launching of Destination Chocolate at Le Chocolat Lounge, Pullman Jakarta Indonesia.

The only chocolate lounge in town partners with fine Indonesian chocolatier and winery to present an indulging affair.

– Pullman Jakarta Indonesia

Yes, it’s indeed a pairing event between chocolate and wine, which both were represented by local companies, Pipiltin Cocoa and Sababay Winery.

If you happen to know me personally, you’d know that this would be a weird event for me to join in. I can assure you it’s not about the wine, as I love to drink. It’s more about the chocolate, since I–this might sounds weird to you–don’t really enjoy or eat chocolate. πŸ˜›

Yeah.

There.

I’ve said it.

But then, I was thinking that it could be a new way for me to enjoy chocolate. Right? Maybe pairing chocolate with wine is the answer that I’ve been looking for all this time. XD

The event started with an opening from Pullman Jakarta Indonesia, and also from both Sababay Winery & Pipiltin Cocoa.

The representative from Sababay Winery, Mr. Gupta, explained to us that since Sababay Winery is located in Bali, they were focusing on only using local ingredients that are growing in Bali. After that, Ms. Tisa as the co-founder of Pipiltin Cocoa also added the fact that all the cocoa beans they’re using to produce the chocolate that would be served that night were all from Bali. The reason was products or goods that came from the same soil / island tend to taste the same and compliment each other.

MC for the night!
Mr. Gupta from Sababay Winery
Ms. Tisa from Pipiltin Cocoa

After the speech, all the waiters were starting to serve the wine and the chocolate around. And so I took the chocolate–it was Coconut & Arak Boost–and a glass of Moscato d’Bali. To my surprise, I could enjoy the chocolate!! I must say that it’s not bad at all (coming from someone like me, it’s a huge compliment hahaha), most especially when I drank the wine after that. I’m not really an expert on wine, but I must agreed with that Ms. Tisa said earlier. Both of them was definitely complimenting each other in some way. Me likey!

The go around chocolate. Tried the Coconut & Arak in the back.
MOSCATO!! So good!

That was one of the best Moscato I’ve ever tasted. It has the right amount of sweetness, because some of Moscato from other brands tend to be way too sweet. What made me more happy about it was that it’s a local product, which made me kind of proud! And I wasn’t the only one who said that. Some of my friends who attended the same event said the same thing. πŸ™‚

As I’m not a chocolate person, I was pestering my friends about the chocolate. I wanted to know what they thought about the chocolate, since they were more legit than me. Well, turned out all of them really enjoyed the chocolates and the desserts! Le Chocolat Lounge did us a favor by also showcasing a bunch of chocolate desserts in a table which we could take as many as we wanted. I really love how they put it together with the nice decoration and unique shape of desserts. Totally a dessert heaven for chocolate lover.


I also tried the other variant from Sababay Winery. As I loved their Moscato, I was really curious on their other wines that they brought out that night, which were Ludisia (Red Wine) and Pink Blossom (Rose Wine). Tried both. Both were good! The red wine was a bit fruity and dry, but not too strong–it has a little sweet flavor somehow–which was really nice for me. Since I never drank Rose Wine before, I didn’t really have any preferences to compare it to, but I found it quite lovely tho. Totally enjoyed all those wine from Sababay Winery. Awesome ones!


The event itself was quite fun and simple. All the guests were encouraged to try all variants from Sababay Winery (I remembered I drank quite a lot XD ), while also being served with all kind of chocolate deserts made by Pullman Jakarta Indonesia’s chefs using chocolate from Pipiltin Cocoa.

The Crowd

Luckily for you who want to indulge yourself with the pairing between the wine from Sababay Winery and chocolate from Pipiltin Cocoa, Pullman Jakarta Indonesia and Le Chocolat Lounge are still going to have sessions of Destination Chocolate to be held on Wednesday, May 11th, 2016, which is today! And also on Wednesday, May 25th, 2016. Both sessions will start at 6 PM.

As for the price, it’ll cost you IDR 300,000 nett. I do recommend to call them for more detail information and reserve the place if you’re going with a group of friends. πŸ™‚

Thank you Pullman Jakarta Indonesia for inviting me!

Le Chocolat Lounge

Lobby Area Pullman Jakarta Indonesia

Jl. M.H. Thamrin 59, Jakarta 10350 – Indonesia

Phone: (+62) 21 3192 1111

 

Erwin.

 

Leave a Reply

