Dandelion, a taste of local at Canggu – Bali.

I like to do a little research before I go traveling, even for cities that I often go to. You can never cover all the spots in one trip. Plus, there will always be a new spot ready to be uncovered. Bali is one of those cities. It has too many places I can’t even check them all out in my life time. So, in my last visit I did a little digging for a unique place to have meals.

I use TripAdvisor quite a lot when I’m looking for places. And since I was planning to spend some time in Canggu, I decided to look it up and found this one restaurant sitting there on the top of restaurant list. The name is Dandelion.

It has been there in the top part of restaurants in Canggu based on TripAdvisor for quite some time already. I was reading all the reviews and when I saw the picture, I was hooked!

Long story short, I decided to visit Dandelion for a lunch date with my girlfriend. We were lucky since it’s not too crowded (my friend visited this place few week ago during dinner time and it was quite packed), only us and one other table that was occupied. Though, during our lunch, few others group of people were coming in as well.

3030269 Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
Dandelion

I love the place from the very first sight. It’s oldie, it has this traditional touch with a lot of vintage stuff all over the place. Dandelion is serving Indonesian food and they did quite good to make the customer feels like home or at least feels like locals with their interior and decoration. You just know that this place would be serving Indonesian food from the exterior and I believe when it looked appealing to me as Indonesian people, I bet all the tourists will love it even more so. I think this is one of that “instagramable” kind of place.

2844903 Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
Front look
2853206 Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
There’s an accessories shop in the same lot

As we arrived, we were welcomed by the staff. There were an outdoor area and (sort of) indoor area, and since it was really hot that day, we decided to eat inside. It was a nice service by the staff. They were very polite and really giving us full attention even when other groups started to come in. A service that is quite rare to be found in Bali knowing that you are locals and not foreigners. Another big point for me.

They gave us the menu, it was a very simple menu with not that many choice. In some way, it was nice since I tend to get confused when there’s too many to choose from. And when I was looking at the menu, I found short stories written on the menu. It was something new for me, and was definitely a nice touch. Too nice that I spent few minutes reading it over and over again before deciding on my order. Hehe..

1922415 Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
Story 1..
2158901 Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
Story 2..
2157131 Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
I really-really can relate to this. This is literally me.

After a while, we then decided on what we’re going to have for our lunch. I ordered Gurita Tumis Rempong (if you translated in English, it would be Complicated Sautee Octopus XD ), and she ordered Nasi Goreng Tempe & Tofu (Tempeh & Tofu Fried Rice). We also ordered Udang Galah Sambal Kemangi (Big Prawn with Basil Chilli Paste) for starter.

My Octopus was great! It’s perfectly cooked and not chewy at all. They serve it with an eggplant, which I found really-really good. I actually hate eggplant, so they did really well. Hahaha. Her fried rice was also really good. You can really taste the Balinese spices. Yet, the winner would be the prawn. The spices, the chilli paste, the prawn itself.. all of them were well cooked and the taste were blending with each other. Overall, we had a really good lunch there. It’s Indonesian food, but I think it’s not that bold like other Indonesian restaurants, so it’s quite perfect for tourists and especially foreigners that can’t deal with Indonesian spiciness and bold flavor. Dandelion sure does the dishes acceptable for all palates. Well done!

Oh, and after we finished all the food, we thought something sweet would be great so we ordered something with Sago on it. I’m sorry but I just couldn’t remember the name hahaha.. It was good though! Not too sweet but just enough to satisfy the tongue.

2373378 Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
Gurita Tumis Rempong
2101151 Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
Nasi Goreng Tempe & Tofu
2606815 Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
Udang Galah Sambal Kemangi
2242389 Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
They will give two kind of sambals for free! Sambal Matah FTW!
1821441 Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
Forgot the name, but it’s super refreshing
2863132 Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
Happy face about to devour all the food!
2041113 Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
Sago Fruits (I forgot the real name, but it has Sago on it haha)

Good food in a good place, with a good service. Dandelion really got my attention that day. Aside from the good food, I love the place so much!

Try to walk around a bit, you’ll find three rabbits playing around in the outdoor area. Yeap, they have rabbits there! They just set them loose and if you ask the staff, they will give you some carrot or other kind of vegies so you can feed them. Your kids will love this. I know, cause I love it hahaha.. Sadly, I didn’t get to take a picture of those rabbits. You’ll have to go there to see them. Cute ones for sure! 🙂

So, if you go to Canggu, Bali and you want to taste some local dish in a really unique place, Dandelion would be perfect for you. Last night I checked, they’re still on the top five restaurant in Canggu area.

Better go and try!

2901929 Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
Indoor area
2319563 Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
Indoor panorama
3020623 Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
Love the table arrangement
2263984 Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
The table

Dandelion

Jl. Batu Bolong No. 10, Canggu, Bali

Phone: +62 896 2296 5413

Opening Hours: 9 AM – 11 PM, every day.

 

Erwin.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

