An introduction of Greek Food at Nostimo Greek Grill, Bali.

There’s a saying.. “Learn something new every day.”

Well, that day I’ve learned that I love Greek food. XD Especially the one I had at Nostimo Greek Grill, Bali.

785656 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
Nostimo Greek Grill!

Found Nostimo while browsing through Tripadvisor, and it was ranked quite good by other users. By the time I wrote this, it’s the 2nd best restaurant in Seminyak area on Tripadvisor. Truth be told, I never tried a proper Greek food before. Maybe some fusion, but that I wasn’t sure either. Well, every time I went to Bali, I always drove pass by a few Greek restaurants and they’re always crowded. But somehow even though it always looks appealing to me, I never made the time to go there. So, in my last visit to Bali, I decided to visit one. This time, I had to.

Again…….I almost bailed out on the plan to eat here due to heavy rain. But hey…the rain stopped after a while and so me and my girlfriend took off to fulfilling my dream (hahaha)

The place is located in Petitinget street at Seminyak area. It’s quite lively at night with a lot of restaurants in the area, from the cheapest one to fine dining. You can find everything here.

Nostimo has its rustic feeling like you’re actually eating inside a small restaurant in Greece. I totally adored the decoration. Simple, homey, felt real, and colorful.

1776081 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
Front view
1819009 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
Love the decoration!
1811834 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
Love!
1850219 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
Inside of the restaurant

We were greeted by the owner when we came, and then he showed us to our table. The waiter showed us the menu not long after that, and since that was my first time eating Greek food, I had no idea what to order. Luckily, my girlfriend had Greek food before in another place so she kind of knew already what might be good. In the end, aside from her suggestion for appetizer, I also followed the recommendation from the menu for my main course. You know, the ones with the thumbs-up or chef-hat symbol on it. πŸ˜›

We ordered Tzatziki, Pita Bread, and Grilled Octopus for appetizer. For main course, Pork Gyros Wrap for her, and Pork Gyros Platter for me. Well we got plenty of food for sure. At first, we thought the Tzatziki that we ordered didn’t come with Pita Bread, but it did. So we also had plenty of Pita Bread that night hahaha.. Fortunately, the Pita Bread was superb! It got the crunchy bite on it but still very soft inside. It was grilled perfectly. Dipped it into the Tzatziki, and I said to her, “I can eat this all day long”. Super fresh and sooo goood! Turned out I love Greek yogurt.

What about the octopus? Well, as an octopus lover, I felt like I have to try the Grilled Octopus. It wasn’t disappointed at all. The octopus was grilled in perfection and it has a bit of tangy taste on it. Oh, and it came with garlic puree which was superb!

1774072 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
Tzatziki
1781862 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
Grilled Octopus
1765917 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
Loving the garlic puree

The Pork Gyros Wrap was also great. I didn’t try it since I basically ordered the same thing but served in a different way. She loved it, and since we (almost) eye to eye in terms of food, I say it was great. The same thing can be said about the Pork Gyros Platter. The portion was huge! And I loveeeeeee it! The pork was super tasty, it’s like a BBQ pork shoulder that have been shredded into pieces, oh and more Pita Bread (yeah!) Other than those, I also got bunch of greens on the platter as well along with cooked onions. If I’m not mistaken, the proper way to eat it is to mix all them up together on the Pita Bread sort of like eating taco. Oh, they gave you hand-cut french fries as well. All of them are really really good. πŸ™‚

1752347 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
Pork Gyros Wrap
1651088 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
More of Pork Gyros Wrap
1850126 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
Pork Gyros Platter
1782176 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
So many!

After the meal, Alex, the owner who’s originally from Greece, came to ask about the food. We ended up talking about the restaurant itself and he shared a bit about himself, which was really nice. I like it when the owner of the restaurant is not exclusively hiding him/herself behind the wall but prefer to talk openly with the guests asking for opinions or critics or just to chat about something.

When I said that I was from Jakarta, he was asking where exactly in Jakarta. Turned out he lived in Jakarta for a while back before Bali. Well, not really Jakarta maybe, but in Cikarang, Bekasi. Haha.. He met his wife, who’s Indonesian, in Jakarta, and then moved to Bali.

Opened since March 2016, he told us that most of the guests were tourist or foreigners. It’s very rare for him to see local Indonesians eating at his restaurant. I think it quite makes sense since local usually love bold flavors and spicy food, and yet Greek food is lighter in flavor and gives a fresh touch to our palate due to the use of Greek Yogurt. BUT HEY, Nostimo’s food is super tasty and I think locals should give it a try. You guys won’t be disappointed. πŸ™‚

As for the price, I think it’s worth it. With the big portion, I must say that it’s very affordable.

Overall, I really had a great time at Nostimo and this place just right on the top of my list of restaurant in Bali. I will definitely go back to have more of that pork and Tzatziki. 😎

Freakin love Greek Food.

1343266 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
Complimentary Bread
1691116 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
Love it
1719385 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
The table and chair
1807996 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
Situation at night
1851296 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
The kitchen!
1814565 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
Decoration inside
1741766 Processed with VSCO with q5 preset
Pardon for the picture, but I love the food so much I just need to take a picture hahaha

Nostimo Greek Grill

Jl. Petitenget No. 17B, Seminyak, BaliΒ 

Open: Everyday from 12 PM (noon) to 11.30 PM

Parking: you can park your car at FaveHotel not far from the place. They have an arrangement with the hotel.

Erwin.

 

Leave a Reply

